Faith In The Midst Of Suffering

“The problem of suffering is not merely the problem of pain. It is fundamentally a problem of meaning.”  -Edmund Chan

     My whole perspective of suffering has always been associated with pain. It could be physical pain brought about by an illness, a disability or an injury. It could be emotional- a heart ache from unrequited love, heartbreak caused by a betrayal, a loss or an end to a seemingly perpetual something. For me, suffering is brought about by pain and pain is brought about by unmet expectations.

But Edmund Chan was able to describe suffering most accurately. “It is fundamentally a problem of meaning.”  In most of my painful experiences, I had an explanation to what may have caused them.  When I got sick, it`s due to my own negligence and laziness to keep fit. When I suffer an embarrassing experience I blame it on my clumsiness. When I suffered from heartbreak I was aware that it was due to my own disobedience and obvious disregard of God`s commands.

…..a problem of meaning

But how do I explain the suffering of a loved one who, from my perspective is in a lot of avoidable pain? Avoidable  because God could have easily removed it or put an end to it.  So like the many afflicted with pain, I searched for meaning. And for the nth time, I ask God “why?”

Why him, Lord when he has faithfully served You during his better years?
Why make him sick when he could have served you better had You kept him healthy?
Why him not another who deserved it?
Why keep him alive when he desires nothing else but to be reunited with You?
Why prolong his agony and make him a burden instead of a blessing to his children?

I know I was not supposed to ask God why but try as I might the questions keep popping unwanted and I couldn`t help but mull over them (an excuseJ).  Eventually, the whys turned to how and what:
What could you be teaching him and us?
How could we glorify you in this situation?
The principles that Edmund Chan presented opened a whole new perspective for me. He used the story of Job to drive home some points.  Each character in the book of Job has his own view of suffering.  For Satan, suffering causes people to turn away from God.  For Job`s wife it is a reason to give up on God, for Job`s friends it is a punishment for sin. Elihu says it’s a result of pride while Job, confused with what`s happened to him finds no reason for human suffering.

But from God’s point of view, “Suffering tests your worship, not of what God can do but of who God is.”  It’s funny how I could relate to all of the other characters’ view on suffering except God’s.  My focus has always been on what God can do for me- for us. I dwelt on what God can do to solve my problems, unaware that it was never about that.  As Edmund Chan puts it:

The central theme of job is not suffering.  Rather, the book of Job is about our relationship with God in the midst of human suffering.  In the final analysis, God alone has the ultimate answer.  And He calls us to TRUST Him.  To keep faith in the midst of suffering.”

I was too engrossed with MY questions about MY problems.  My vision was zoomed in on what God can do, forgetting who He really is.  I thank God for this light bulb moment that helps me go back on track.

If I focused on God not on the pain or suffering, I find myself in my rightful place and God in His.

…who He is

He is God, He is my Lord.

He keeps His promises (Numbers 23:19).

He is my help and the one who sustains me (Psalm 54:4).

He is good (Psalm 34:8).

He is the same yesterday, today and forever (Hebrews 1:10-12, Hebrews 13:8)

He is merciful (Psalm 103:17-18).

The list is endless. Though I may not understand why we suffer, like Job, I can take comfort in the fact that God loves me, He can be trusted, and He knows what’s best for me.  But more than that, I praise Him that He is the God I know and not someone or something else.

…who I am

A sinner saved by grace (period).

If there’s a list that I can come up with it’s for reasons why I don’t deserve His grace. But in His awesomeness, He gave.  In response I wish I could say I will never question Him again.  I’ll try not to.  But in case I flunked, I know He is faithful to forgive me.

In times of pain I still shed tears and I do feel. But having THE kind of God that HE is to whom I put my trust, I will choose to praise Him come what may.  So help me God. J

“Sorrow may last through the night, joy comes in the morning.”  Psalm 30:5

About Green wIne

I want to learn how to live each day better than how I lived yesterday
This entry was posted in Unchanging Love. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Faith In The Midst Of Suffering

  1. Pingback: Sunday School: God Preserves a Remnant | Shiloh Temple COGIC

  2. Pingback: The Mystical Meaning of the Story of Job « Earthpages.org

  3. Pingback: “Hands-On Faith Project” | MAJESTIC PUBLISHING & WRITING MINISTRY

Speak your mind